Installing Sun JDK on UBUNTU Lucid Lynx

Ubuntu 10.04 comes with openJDK which you can install using synaptic manager easily. But to install sun JDK you need to add a repository:

1- Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager > Settings > Repositories > Other Software and enable the partner repository.

Now you can either search for sun-java6-jre, sun-java6-plugin, sun-java6-jdk using Synaptic or:

2- sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jdk

After downloading it will ask you to agree to a licence agreement. Hit “Enter” to agree.

Note: If “enter” doesn’t work, hit “Tab” first. Guess what? It happened with me and drived me crazy for a while.

3- Hit “enter” again to agree again to the dialog.

4- It’s installed now. To check: $ java -version

2 تعليقان

  1. احمد صبحى said,

    أغسطس 29, 2010 في 1:26 ص

    what is the advantage of sun JDK over OpenJDK ??

  2. marwayusuf said,

    أغسطس 29, 2010 في 1:35 ص

    Actually I didn’t search for that for now. I just need java quickly for my work, and I need a specific version so I prefered to be in safe side
    Anyway here’s a discussion about that issue – which I didn’t read yet.


اترك رد

