Now, I’ve almost Google Chrome on Ubuntu

I’ve found that Google Chrome is based on an open source browser called chromium, which I can install on my dear Ubuntu. But, it lacks some features like plugins, so no flash, i.e no YouTube or my beloved pet society on Facebook. I said, anyway, I have Firefox ready for me, no problem, let’s try it.

I’ve installed it and, tatatata, it has flash and I’ve just watched a YouTube video now and played as well. It’s almost google chrome – with themes too 🙂 -, but I don’t know what are the differences yet. I’m discovering.

To install it on Ubuntu 9.04:

1- Edit the /etc/apt/sources.list file

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

2- Add the following two lines at the end of file, save and exit the file.

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/chromium-daily/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main

deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/chromium-daily/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main

3- Add the GPG key

sudo apt-key adv –recv-keys –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 0xfbef0d696de1c72ba5a835fe5a9bf3bb4e5e17b5

4- Update the source list

sudo apt-get update

5- Install chromium

sudo apt-get install chromium-browser

Don’t forget to type Y when asked in the terminal.

Finally, Enjoy it.

Note: I’ve found all these info on my dear Ubuntu Geek.

اترك رد

